Carolyn Eslick Appointed as new LD 39 State House Representative


On September 20th the Skagit County Board of Commissioners, the Snohomish County Council and the King County Council all met in Everett to choose our new State LD 39 House Representative.  Unfortunately for Elizabeth Scott the meeting started with a motion from the Democratic controlled King and Snohomish County Councils to have Carolyn Eslick (Mayor of Sultan and the LD 39 PCO's 3rd choice) as their preferred pick.

Because the 39th District is in three counties, the 17 members of the Board of Skagit County Commissioners, the Snohomish County Council and the King County Council each had a say in the selection of John Kosters replacement.

Per 1985 Washington State AG opinion and by previous attorney agreement the vote was to be weighted 1/3 each per county as each governing body was given three votes, which meant each member of the three-person Skagit County board got a full vote, each member of the five person Snohomish County Council got .60 of a vote and each of the nine-member King Council got .33 of a vote.

Immediately after the meeting began Snohomish County Councilman Terry Ryan proposed a motion for the governing officials to vote only for one candidate, Carolyn Eslick.  The motion passed with little opposition (however when it was their turn both Skagit Commissioner Ron Wesen and King County Councilman Dave Upthegrove politely took the microphone in support of Elizabeth Scott, the PCO's #1 choice) as each elected official had the chance to vote yes or no for the appointment of Eslick.  After the 17 member tally the Eslick supported motion ended up with a total of 6.89 votes, higher than the 4.51 majority needed for Eslick to earn the selection.

For Skagit Ron Wesen (R) and Lisa Janicki (D) supported Elizabeth Scott and Ken Dahlstedt (D) voted with the Carolyn Eslick crowd.  All five members of the Democratic controlled Snohomish Council voted in support for Carolyn Eslick.  The Democrat controlled nine member King County Council voted 6-3 in favor of Carolyn Eslick, Regan Dunn (R), Pete Von Reichbauer and Dave Upthegrove (D) were the only supporters of Elizabeth Scott.

Of Note: Elizabeth Scott announced after the meeting that she will be running for the seat in November 2018.



Share This Post...