Leadership change made following Rep. Dan Kristiansen's retirement


Washington State House Republicans elected 2nd LD Representative J.T. Wilcox to be their new House Leader.  He replaces Rep. Dan Kristiansen, who stepped down as leader on Tuesday and announced he would not run for re-election in November.

"I love this caucus.  These are the greatest people I've ever worked with.  To be elected leader by my peers is an honor.  I feel like I've got a big job to do," said Wilcox, R-Yelm.  I continue to believe we have the biggest tent when it comes to ideology and points of view at the Capitol.  Ii think this is a major reason why we've been so successful in a blue state -- including this legislative session."

Wilcox was first elected state Representative of the 2nd Legislative District in 2010.  Prior to being elected leader, he served as Floor Leader and sat on the House Appropriations, Finance and Rules committees.

Wilcox is a graduate of Washington State University, where he earned his bachelor's degree in history.  In the 2000s, he served as Chief Operating Officer and then Chief Financial Officer of Wilcox Farms.

Wilcox grew up on his family farm in rural Pierce County, where he still lives today with his wife Kathy.  They have three children and one granddaughter.

In other House Republican Leadership changes, Rep. Drew Stokesbary, R-Auburn, was elected to replace Wilcox as Floor Leader.  Stokesbary was previously an Assistant Floor Leader.  Rep Drew MacEwen, R-Union, was elected to replace Stokesbary.

Share This Post...